The Leaf — Maker review
Jade Leaf matcha: how to read the lineup
Jade Leaf is the matcha most Americans have held: organic, in grocery stores and on Amazon, produced by a Kyoto-headquartered collective of family farms that opened a US outpost in 2014. Its product pages disclose more than its shelf position suggests — harvest, region, five named cultivars — and its certifications are real. What it will not do is show its lab results, which it says exist for every batch. Here is what the company states, what it withholds, and where the affiliate money is.
This Matcha Life is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We choose what to cover before we look at what it pays. This page contains no affiliate links.
In short
- Jade Leaf is USDA Organic (certified by CCOF) and Non-GMO Project Verified, sources from Uji and Kagoshima, states first harvest for its ceremonial tins and second harvest for culinary, and names five cultivars on the Teahouse Edition.
- It says every batch is third-party tested for heavy metals, microbials and aflatoxins, and radiation, and states that it does not share the test results.
- It sells officially on Amazon and in grocery chains, and runs an affiliate program through Awin — the only brand among the five reviewed here that does.
Which Jade Leaf matcha should you buy? The short answer
Three tins matter. The Ceremonial Teahouse Edition is the top of the range — first harvest, Uji and Kagoshima, five named cultivars, for the plain bowl. The Ceremonial Barista Edition is first harvest made for milk. The Culinary is second harvest for lattes, smoothies and baking. All are USDA Organic, certified by CCOF. The company says every batch is lab-tested and will not show you the results; ask, and decide with that answer in hand.
The company
Jade Leaf is produced by the Kizuna Tea Collective, which describes itself as a network of family-run tea farms across Japan’s growing regions that has supplied the domestic market since 1858, with headquarters in Kyoto and a US outpost opened in 2014 to sell certified organic matcha under the Jade Leaf name. The leaf comes from Uji and Kagoshima. The brand is sold on its own site, on Amazon, and in US grocery chains, and it is the matcha most likely to be found on a supermarket shelf.
The lineup
| Tin | Grade word | Stated harvest | Stated region | Stated cultivars | Formats |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ceremonial – Teahouse Edition | Ceremonial (top) | First harvest | Uji and Kagoshima | Okumidori, Kanayamidori, Sayamakaori, Samidori, Yabukita | 30 g and 100 g tins and pouches; 1 lb pouch |
| Ceremonial – Barista Edition | Ceremonial, for milk | First harvest | Uji and Kagoshima | — | Tins and pouches |
| Culinary | Culinary | Second harvest | Japan | — | Pouches |
| Latte mixes, lemonade, hojicha | — | — | — | — | Tubs and pouches; sweetened mixes are not matcha |
Source: jadeleafmatcha.com product pages and grocery labels, September 2026. A dash means the page does not state it. The Teahouse Edition page gives caffeine per serving and serving counts (a 30 g tin as 15–30 servings).
What Jade Leaf discloses, and what it does not
Discloses. Harvest — first for ceremonial, second for culinary — which many brands leave out. Region: Uji and Kagoshima. Cultivars on the Teahouse Edition, five of them, including Samidori from the Uji side and Okumidori. Intended use, tin by tin. Certification: USDA Organic through CCOF, Non-GMO Project Verified. Storage: an oxygen absorber in the pack, and a recommendation to use within about two months of opening. Serving guidance: half to one teaspoon whisked with 2 ounces of warm water as a “shot,” then extended with water or milk.
Does not disclose. Individual farm names — the collective is named, the growers are not. Milling method per tin. And the test results. Jade Leaf states that all its products are tested by third-party independent accredited laboratories for heavy metals, microbials, aflatoxins and nutrition, that batches failing its standards are rejected, and, in Amazon answers, that it runs gross alpha, beta and gamma radiation tests and a heavy-metals and fluoride panel. It then states, in as many words, that it does not share its testing results. That is a policy, stated openly; it is also the gap in an otherwise well-disclosed label.
The lead question
Because Jade Leaf is the most-sold organic matcha in the United States, it is the one most often tested by outsiders. In January 2025 an independent consumer tester published a result reporting detectable lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic in one bag of the Organic Ceremonial Barista Edition, tested at an outside laboratory. Three things are true at once. It is a single bag, and one lot does not describe a brand. Every plant takes up trace metals from soil, and tea takes up lead more readily than most crops, so “detectable” is not by itself alarming; the dispute is about thresholds. And the only thing that would settle it for a given tin is the company’s own certificate of analysis for that lot, which Jade Leaf has said it does not share. Organic certification does not address lead, because lead comes from soil and air rather than farm inputs. If the question matters to you, it is a reason to ask the company for a current COA, and to weigh the answer.
The grade words
Jade Leaf uses “ceremonial” and “culinary” as its primary sorting, defines them in consumer terms — ceremonial as higher-quality first-harvest leaf for whisking, culinary as second harvest for lattes and baking — and acknowledges elsewhere that the categories are not officially regulated, especially outside Japan. In its case the words track a real difference the company also states plainly: first harvest versus second. Read the harvest line; it is the one that means something.
Availability, Amazon, and the affiliate program
Jade Leaf sells from its own site with free shipping above a threshold, a satisfaction guarantee and a subscription discount; officially on Amazon, to which it directs customers when its own stock runs short; and in grocery chains. No shortage purchase limits were found in September 2026, and its Kagoshima sourcing sits outside the Kyoto leaf that has been rationed hardest. It runs a public affiliate program through the Awin network, paying commission on sales referred to its site, alongside a rewards and referral program. That is worth knowing when reading reviews: a great many “best organic matcha” pages that rank Jade Leaf first are paid when you click. This one is not.
Which tin, for which bowl
| You make | Look at | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Usucha, plain | Teahouse Edition | First harvest, five cultivars, the top tin |
| A latte | Barista Edition | First harvest made for milk |
| Baking, smoothies | Culinary | Second harvest; milled for it |
| A first organic tin | Teahouse Edition 30 g | Fifteen to thirty servings by the company’s count; finish within two months |
What the tin does not tell you
The lab result. Tested, by the company’s statement; unseen, by the company’s policy.
The grower. A collective since 1858; no names.
The mill. Not stated per tin.
Numbers and facts at a glance
- What it is: the US brand of the Kizuna Tea Collective, Kyoto; US outpost since 2014; leaf from Uji and Kagoshima.
- Certified: USDA Organic (CCOF), Non-GMO Project Verified.
- Discloses: harvest, region, cultivars (Teahouse), use, storage. Not: farms, milling, lab results.
- Testing: stated for every batch — heavy metals, microbials, aflatoxins, radiation, fluoride — and not shared.
- Third-party lead result: one bag of the Barista Edition, January 2025; single lot; disputed thresholds.
- Amazon US: official. Affiliate program: yes, via Awin.
- Serving guidance: half to one teaspoon in 2 oz of warm water, then water or milk; use within about two months of opening.
Sources
- Jade Leaf Matcha — official site — Jade Leaf
- National Organic Program — USDA Agricultural Marketing Service
- CCOF — organic certification — CCOF
- Non-GMO Project — Non-GMO Project
Questions people actually ask
Is Jade Leaf matcha good quality?
By what it states: first-harvest, shade-grown, from Uji and Kagoshima, five named cultivars on the Teahouse Edition, certified organic. By what it withholds: no farm names and no published lab results. It is a certified, disclosed, mass-market organic matcha; the Teahouse Edition is its top tin and the Barista Edition and Culinary are made for milk and baking.
Is Jade Leaf matcha organic?
Yes. USDA Organic, certified by CCOF, and Non-GMO Project Verified; grocery labels add gluten-free and Whole30. Organic certifies farming inputs; it does not certify harvest, cultivar, shading or heavy-metal content.
Does Jade Leaf test for lead?
Jade Leaf states that all products are tested by third-party accredited labs for heavy metals, microbials, aflatoxins and nutrition, and, in answers on Amazon, that it runs radiation and fluoride panels. It also states that it does not share its certificates of analysis. Separately, an independent tester reported detectable lead, cadmium, mercury and arsenic in one bag of the Barista Edition in January 2025; that is a single-batch third-party result, not a company disclosure, and thresholds are disputed.
Which Jade Leaf matcha is for lattes?
The Ceremonial Barista Edition, first harvest and made for milk, and the Culinary grade, second harvest and sold for lattes, smoothies and baking. The Teahouse Edition is the tin for the plain bowl.
Where is Jade Leaf grown?
Uji in Kyoto and Kagoshima, by the family farms of the Kizuna Tea Collective, which the company says have supplied Japan's domestic market since 1858. Individual farms are not named.
Does Jade Leaf have an affiliate program?
Yes, a public one through the Awin network, paying commission on referred sales, plus a rewards and referral program. Reviews that link to Jade Leaf with tracking links are earning from it; this page does not.
Read next