this matcha life

The Leaf — Maker review

Naoki Matcha: how to read the lineup

Naoki Matcha is a US importer, founded by Singapore-based operators who started on Amazon, that brings matcha in small batches from estates in Uji, Yame and Kagoshima and ships it from the United States. It is unusual in two ways. It uses the words 'ceremonial' and 'culinary' on its tins while stating, on its own site, that the distinction is unregulated and not used in Japan. And it says its matcha is tested by a third-party laboratory for pesticides, heavy metals and radiation — and does not publish the results.

Matcha powder and a bamboo scoop

This Matcha Life is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. We choose what to cover before we look at what it pays. This page contains no affiliate links.

How we work. We have not tasted these tins. This page reads naokimatcha.com and its sister sites for Asia and Japan — product pages, support and customer Q&A, the grade article — checked in September 2026. Naoki advertises no affiliate program; this page contains no affiliate links. Claims about testing thresholds reported by third parties are marked as such.

In short

  • Naoki sorts its range into Ceremonial, Masters Collection and Organic, states harvest and region on most tins, and names cultivars on the Masters Collection and its Yame single-cultivar set.
  • On its own site it calls the ceremonial/culinary split 'entirely unregulated' and says it uses the labels only for convenience: drinkable is ceremonial, edible is culinary.
  • It states third-party testing (a New Zealand lab; pesticides, cadmium, arsenic, lead, mercury, radiation) but publishes no report. It sells officially on Amazon US and ships from US stock.

Which Naoki matcha should you buy? The short answer

Naoki's range has three tiers by its own naming: Ceremonial blends for drinking, a Masters Collection of single-region and single-cultivar tins, and an Organic line. Its Superior Blend is the first-harvest everyday bowl; Fragrant Yame is the Yame version; the Barista blends are for milk; the Masters tins — Chiran Harvest, Nishio Bloom, Ujitawara Special — are for tasting a place. Naoki states harvest and region on most tins, says its matcha is lab-tested without publishing the reports, and tells you on its own site that its grade labels are a convenience.

The company

Naoki Matcha is an importer, not a tea house. Its founders are Singapore-based and began by selling on Amazon.com through fulfillment by Amazon; today it runs naokimatcha.com for the United States, with sister sites for Asia and Japan, and describes its matcha as made in Japan, imported in small batches and shipped from the USA. It says it works with tea estates, processing factories and blending experts in Uji, Yame and Kagoshima, and that it serves a large customer base across the United States, Singapore and the United Kingdom. Its site is heavy on explanation — how to prepare, how to store, what grades mean — which is where its most useful statements live.

The lineup

TinNaoki’s categoryStated originStated harvest / cultivarFormats
Superior BlendCeremonial (bestseller)—First harvestTin, bag
Fragrant Yame BlendCeremonialYame, Fukuoka—Tin, bag
Barista BlendCeremonial, for lattes——Tin, bag
Barista Pro BlendCeremonial, for lattes——Tin, bag
Organic First Spring BlendOrganic ceremonialKagoshimaFirst harvestTin, bag
Organic All-Purpose CulinaryOrganic culinary——Bag
Chiran HarvestMasters CollectionChiran, KagoshimaSingle cultivarTin
Nishio BloomMasters CollectionNishio, Aichi—Tin
Ujitawara SpecialMasters CollectionUjitawara, Kyoto—Tin
Yame Single-Cultivar SetCeremonialYameFour single cultivars4 × 20 g
Sampler———6 × 2 g sachets

Source: naokimatcha.com collection and product pages, September 2026. A dash means the page does not state it. Sizes commonly run 20 g, 30 g, 40 g and 100 g depending on blend.

What Naoki discloses, and what it does not

Discloses. Harvest on many tins — first harvest is stated for the Superior Blend and the Organic First Spring. Region on most, down to district: Chiran, Nishio, Ujitawara. Cultivar on the Masters Collection and the Yame set. Intended use, in its own words: ceremonial for drinking, barista for milk, culinary for cooking. Serving size: 2 g, with a 30 g tin described as about fifteen servings. Storage advice: refrigerate after opening, clip the bag closed.

Does not disclose. Individual farms, as a rule. Shading duration. Milling method, consistently. And the testing documents: Naoki states that its matcha is tested regularly by a third-party New Zealand laboratory for pesticides and for cadmium, arsenic, lead and mercury with no suspicious result, and its support page adds radiation; no certificate of analysis is published. A UK reviewer has reported that Naoki applies a lead threshold of 0.25 micrograms per gram and that its manufacturing partners hold a food-safety certification; those figures come from the reviewer’s account of Naoki’s standard, not from a document Naoki has posted. The honest summary: Naoki claims testing, describes it, and does not show it.

The grade article

Naoki’s most useful page is the one about grades. It states that the ceremonial and culinary terms are entirely unregulated, that matcha is never categorized this way in Japan, where it is graded on multiple factors across a spectrum, and that the company is “not a great fan” of the distinction — but that the labels give overseas buyers an easy way to sort, so it adopts them for convenience: if a blend can be used to make something you drink, it calls it ceremonial; something you eat, culinary. That is the clearest statement of what the words actually mean on any importer’s site, and it means the word on a Naoki tin tells you exactly one thing, which the tin also tells you in plainer language. Ippodo says the same on its own FAQ: it does not use the term, which was invented to market matcha overseas and is not used in Japan.

Availability and buying

Naoki ships from the United States across North America and, through its sister sites, to Southeast Asia, Europe and the Middle East. It sells officially on Amazon US — the channel it began on — and from its own site, with free shipping above a threshold. No shortage-related purchase limits were found on the site in September 2026, and its Kagoshima and Yame sourcing sits outside the Kyoto leaf that the shortage has rationed most.

Which tin, for which bowl

You makeLook atWhy
Usucha, every daySuperior BlendFirst harvest; the house’s bestseller
Usucha, a regional tasteFragrant Yame; Nishio Bloom; Ujitawara SpecialRegion stated to the district
A latteBarista Blend, Barista ProMade for milk, by the brand’s own designation
OrganicOrganic First SpringKagoshima, first harvest, organic
Tasting cultivarsChiran Harvest; Yame Single-Cultivar SetSingle cultivars, four of them in the set
BakingOrganic All-Purpose CulinaryThe one tin sold for eating rather than drinking

What the tin does not tell you

The report. Naoki says it tests; you cannot read the result. Ask for the current certificate for the lot you are buying; a brand that tests should be able to send one.

The farm. Estates and districts are named; the grower, usually, is not.

The grade. By the company’s own account, “ceremonial” here means drinkable. The harvest and the district are the disclosures that carry the taste.

Numbers and facts at a glance

  • What it is: a US importer with Singapore-based founders; sources from Uji, Yame and Kagoshima; ships from US stock.
  • Categories: Ceremonial, Masters Collection, Organic; serving 2 g.
  • Discloses: harvest (many), region to the district, cultivar (Masters and the Yame set), use.
  • Testing: stated — New Zealand lab; pesticides; cadmium, arsenic, lead, mercury; radiation — not published.
  • Grade terms: used, and described on its own site as unregulated and adopted for convenience.
  • Amazon US: official. Affiliate: none advertised.

Sources

  1. Naoki Matcha — official site — Naoki Matcha
  2. Is Ippodo matcha "ceremonial grade?" (FAQ) — Ippodo Tea

Questions people actually ask

Where is Naoki Matcha from?

The company is a US-based importer with sister sites for Asia and Japan; the tea is from estates in Uji (Kyoto), Yame (Fukuoka) and Kagoshima, including Chiran, with Masters Collection tins from Nishio and Ujitawara. It ships from stock in the United States.

Is Naoki Matcha ceremonial grade?

Naoki labels its drinking blends ceremonial and its cooking blend culinary, and says on its own site that the terms are unregulated, never used this way in Japan, and adopted only for convenience: if it can be used for something you drink, ceremonial; something you eat, culinary. Read the harvest and region instead.

Is Naoki Matcha tested for heavy metals?

Naoki states that its matcha is tested regularly by a third-party New Zealand laboratory for pesticides and for cadmium, arsenic, lead and mercury, and separately for radiation, with no suspicious results. The reports themselves are not published on the site. A third-party reviewer has reported that Naoki applies a lead threshold of 0.25 micrograms per gram; that figure comes from the reviewer, not from a published Naoki document.

Which Naoki matcha is best for lattes?

Naoki sells two blends made for milk, Barista Blend and Barista Pro Blend, and describes its Superior Blend as a first-harvest ceremonial blend for the bowl. Its recommended serving is 2 g.

Can I buy Naoki on Amazon?

Yes, from the brand itself — Naoki launched on Amazon.com and sells there officially, one of the few brands on this site that does. It also sells from its own site, which ships from the United States.

Does Naoki name its cultivars?

On the Masters Collection — Chiran Harvest is a single cultivar — and on the Yame Single-Cultivar Set of four 20 g tins. Its standard blends state harvest and region but not cultivar; individual farms are generally not named.

Read next